Google Translate Widget by Infofru

Author Site Reviewresults


Coordinated Units for Wheat Programme


Wheat is the leading food grain of Pakistan occupying the largest area under and single crop. About twenty percent of the total wheat acreage is planted under rainfed conditions. Wheat production in Pakistan can be divided into three distinct periods: 1947-65, prior to the release of semi-dwarf wheat; 1966-76, the so-called “Green Revolution” period when High Yielding varieties (HYVs) were rapidly adopted on about two thirds of total wheat area and 1976 to date, post green revolution period when HYVs continued to spread to cover the major wheat area. Wheat contributes 10.1 percent to the value added in agriculture and 2.2 percent to GDP. Area under wheat has increased to 8.89 million hectares in 2012-13,showing an increase of 0.5 percent over last year’s area. The production stood at 24.3 million tons during 2012-13, showing 3.2 percent increase over the last year production of 23.5 million tons. The yield per hectare in 2012-13 stood at 2797 (Kg/ha) posted a positive growth of 2.7 percent as compared to negative 4.2 percent growth last year. The overall increase in area due to enhancement in support price from Rs.1050 to Rs.1200.This was further supported by favorable temperature and healthy grain formation. Wheat production in the country has increased from 3.35 to 25 million tons (617%) during 1948 to 2011 whereas increase in the area was from 3.9 to 8.9 million hectare during this period (129%). Grain yield (Kg ha-1) has been increased from 848 (1948) to 2797 (2013) with an increase of 317 percent.

Wheat Research Programme, NARC Islamabad

1.    University of Agriculture, Faisalabad

2.    Wheat Research Institute (WRI) AARI, Faisalabad

3.    Regional Agricultural Resaerch Institute (RARI), Bahawalpur

4.    Barani Agricultural Research Institute (BARI) Chakwal

5.    Nuclear Institute Agriculture (NIA), Tandojam

6.    Wheat Research Institute (WRI) Sakrand

7.    Agricultural Research Institute (ARI), D.I.Khan

8.    Cereal Crops Research Institute (CCRI) Pirsabak, Nowshera

9.    Nuclear Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA), Peshawar

10.  University of Agriculture, Peshawar

11.  Agricultural Research Institute (ARI) Sariab, Quetta

12.  Balochistan Agricultural Research and Development Centre (BARDC), Quetta

13.  Department of Agriculture, Muzaffarabad, AJK

14.  Summer Agricultural Research Station (SARS) Kaghan

15.  Mountain Agricultural Research Centre (MARC) Gilgit.

All the correspondence regarding coordination activities (i.e. NUWYT, Germplasm, Traveling seminar, Annual Planning Meetings, Exchange of Informationetc.) on crops in (Wheat) may please be addressed to the National Coordinator.

Resource Person:

Dr. Atiq-ur-Rehman, National Coordinator (Wheat )

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

PARC, Room # 401 B G-5/1, Islamabad

 Ph: 051-90762451, Cell: 0334-5306444



PARC Toll Free
Help Desk (9:00am to 5:00pm)


Follow Us on

TwitterRSS Feed